Author Topic: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission  (Read 4237 times)

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« on: January 22, 2016, 02:15:25 AM »
 8) 8) after update my Cood-e lost root access and in really love my root permission...
So I started about 08:00pm and took me until 02:00pm but it was worth it  8) we've got root access once again. . so now me is verry happy haha...
So I say to you all

"Sweet dreams and sleep well.. Until tomorrow ...
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2016, 02:18:23 AM »
 ;D
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2016, 02:27:43 AM »
 :-X
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2016, 10:36:14 AM »
What's that for? We already got 15.2, so no need to sideload it...I think.
But I'm just a noob in those things.

Regards,
Art

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2016, 02:20:53 PM »
Thats because in now have a reboot function and all android devices need a system reboot once in a while .. And  I wasn't to happy by doing it through disconnect the power because if you do it that way the system isn't shutting down properly... That's asking for problems ... Ive had a bricked android before because of that...

Also I can and all ready have deleted some useless system apps that you don't need or use that where using space and mem..

And all download apps can be installed on external sd.
(Also Android obb files) really is saving you a lot of memory..
I use a USB 3.0 with a SD slot and cood-e is seeing as a ext-sd card (same as your ext memory on your phone..

And I can give you a lot more reasons why I rooted it..

Greets coert
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2016, 02:21:45 PM »
Like Kodi 16.0 the have just released the RC 1 (release candidate)
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2016, 02:54:11 PM »
Thats because in now have a reboot function and all android devices need a system reboot once in a while .. And  I wasn't to happy by doing it through disconnect the power because if you do it that way the system isn't shutting down properly... That's asking for problems ... Ive had a bricked android before because of that...

Also I can and all ready have deleted some useless system apps that you don't need or use that where using space and mem..

And all download apps can be installed on external sd.
(Also Android obb files) really is saving you a lot of memory..
I use a USB 3.0 with a SD slot and cood-e is seeing as a ext-sd card (same as your ext memory on your phone..

And I can give you a lot more reasons why I rooted it..

Greets coert

Thanks for explaining it to me. I had no idea...since I'm an Apple fan boy and never dwelved into the mysterious world of Android.
So, without rooting, is there any other way (maybe an android app accessible from Kodi) to shutdown the box properly?

Regards,
Art
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 02:57:31 PM by aquerido »

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2016, 05:12:20 PM »
Hey Art,

There is another way and that would be that Cood-e team made it available in firmware ... Because the can give that function the proper system rights and by rooting the device I have given myself the same system rights as the developers would have.
And now I can change, rewrite and add everything I want in the system of the coode box..

Like the things I mentioned in the above post..that and much more,
For example I could change CPU govenor, the core usage like when it has to use the 3 or 4 instead of 2 cores , the way the system will manage Ram,
Add scripts that can make functions possible that normally wouldn't have available..
I don't know how but it also would be possible to remap your coode remote..

There's just to much to tell what possible when having superuser rights...

But I hope now you understand why I rooted my coode.. 8)

Greets Coert
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2016, 06:51:11 PM »
Most definitely, Coert.
I better not mess with it right now, as I would totally trash my box.
For now, I'll rely on Cood-e team's good will.

Warmest regards,
Art

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2016, 07:01:42 PM »
Good will is definitely something the cood -e team is showing for the past few weeks ..!!!
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2016, 08:56:35 PM »
Yeah.
So, I've started experiencing some problems, system lagging, navigation becoming slow, like the system is thinking a lot for a long time, and some freezes and crashes.
Is there anyway to go back to the previous firmware? At least it ran smoothly...

Regards,
Art

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2016, 09:36:00 PM »
Hey.....

Did you allready tried to reboot the box ?
Yeah I know I just told you its not the best way to reboot the box but because you can't get in android settings,,
rebooting the box by disconnecting the power is then only way to clear cache and clean your Ram..
After power of wait 10 secs or so before reconnecting power after reconnecting power let coode reboot...
Most of the time this will help some...

But still I have to agree with you it feels more laggy then other builds of 15.2 ..
You could also download another skin based on confluence.. I changed it to confluence skin **** Isengard that on also isn't 100% smooth but that one is acceptable and much snappier and smoother then the normal confluence skin
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2016, 10:20:39 PM »
Dear Coert,

Way ahead of you, pal. Tried everything, rebooting, rebooting my Syno NAS, and things got a bit better when I disconnected it from the network for a while. Also, I've unchecked the download actor thumbs in settings.
It seems to be working now, with Confluence.
I'll keep you in the loop.

Thanks.
Art

Coert

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: +19/-16
  • Just do it..!!!
    • View Profile
    • XDA Developers
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2016, 11:44:01 PM »
 ;D

Yeah I all ready thought you tried all of the above steps.
You're saying your a Apple fan boy and this is your first trip trough android wonderland 8)
But you know much more then you want us to believe you do... (I think you' e got more knowleged about android/kodi comparing to the average user..)

Nevertheless it couldn't do harm asking if you did try hose few thing...

And about going back to 14.1 Im pretty shure rolling back firmware or Kodi version isn't possible because first of all you would need the firmware you want to role back to..
And only ones I know having it are the cood-e team..

Another possibility to role back firmware install would be through flashing a recovery backup.zip but you don't have one.
A recovery ,zip is a flashable backup.zip file normally made in a custom recovery program like TWRP or CWM recovery.
The backup file allows you to undo everything that was changed, installed or deleted by installing the firmware update.
So if you would flash the backup recovery zip your box or phone will be exactly the same as it was before youve updated firmware. 

Only thing you can do for now is hoping coode team will fix the lagging in the UI so it will run smooth and your coode will feel snapie again...
Believe in yourself because if you don't no one does..!!

aquerido

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firmware V1.2.5. Already acquired Root permission
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2016, 09:02:23 AM »
Dear Coert,

Thanks for the compliment. I'm just a curious guy, I like to exploit every possible way and if wrong, try and try again.  8)
I guess you're right about downgrading to the previous software. Could do more harm than good and of course we would rely on the Cood-e team for that.
They're investigating the issues and so am I...with your precious help, of course.  ;)

Thanks again.
Art