COOD-E Forum

Help And Support => Software => Topic started by: Coert on October 24, 2015, 10:54:44 PM

Title: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on October 24, 2015, 10:54:44 PM
Hi,

I wanted to know if the Cood-e will be updated to Kodie 15.2 (stable) anytime soon.?
Because its a really nice box but I could be so much more with kodi 15.2 running on it.
Kodi 15.2 runs so much better and smoother than Kodi 14.1 and anytime soon a lot of addons will not support helix anymore I encounters a few all ready...(Wont mention them here because the are third party addons)

Hope you are working on a update to 15.2 and roll it out any time soon...;-)

Greets Coert
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on October 25, 2015, 01:47:45 AM
Agreed! This would be very much appreciated, but i know you guys over at Cood-E are probably already working on it :)
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on October 26, 2015, 02:10:40 PM
 :-X no awnser from the Cood-e team...hmmm .. I ques its not going to happen anytime soon ?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on October 26, 2015, 06:56:35 PM
They usuallly respond quite fast, but the forum has been quiet for a while so maybe they're checking less often :)
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: sikkel1961 on October 28, 2015, 09:14:16 PM
Try the Facebook page for this question !!!!
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: sikkel1961 on October 29, 2015, 09:22:14 AM
Beste John,

Wij werken continu aan het verbeteren van de software en de gebruikerservaring van de COOD-E TV.

Wat betreft het Forum hier zal intern besproken worden hoe er sneller gereageerd kan worden.

Met vriendelijke groet,

Team COOD-E
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeroen on October 29, 2015, 09:48:25 AM
Hi All,

We always try to answer the questions as fast as possible, and mainly Jeremy is taking care of all the answers.

He is  the most busy guy in the COOD-E Team and he wasn't able to answer as quick as normal, sorry for that!  :-[
So I'll be here to support Jeremy and help answering all the questions as soon as possible.

Regarding updates, we use a modified version of Kodi on the COOD-E TV, and we're working on some new changes. At the moment I can't tell if we change to the new Kodi 15.2 or 16 soon, but will update asap.


Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on October 29, 2015, 01:09:35 PM
Hi,

If you're going to update I prefer Isengard 15.2 stable instead of Jarvis as I have 2 other boxes here 1 with isengard and 1 with Jarvis (last nightly , I update every time theres a new nightly) I started with kodi Gotham and winds then I used all versions but the best kodi used I by far isengard 15.2 .
And helix is getting outdated I all ready found several incompatible addons so please make update your first priority because it really is frustrating because we arnt possible to do the update ourselves... So we have to Riley on you...

Greets coert
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeroen on October 29, 2015, 04:55:56 PM
We're working on an update for the software as well on the Keyboard remote.

There were some small details that caused a delay in the production of the Keyboard, but we don't want to make crapy things, so hopefully it will arrive before holiday season.

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on October 29, 2015, 10:10:35 PM
Hi,
About the update i wanted to ask the cood-e team if they want to consider doing the Cood-e users a really huge favour ...
I allthoug i think I speak for all the cood-e user out there would love to see our box get updated , and no I'm not talking about kodi update but we would love to seee the Cood-e get updated to android 5.0

Please don't say no right after reading my request but think about it and discusse it with all the members of your team...

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeremy on November 01, 2015, 12:13:26 AM
Hi Coert,

We working on kodi 15.2
But regarding android 5, we need AMLOGIC (chipset maker) to fix it for this chipset, as they working on new chipsets for 5.0, i don't think they will do this anytime soon.

Also, we will focus on kodi 15.2 more, its more important atm.

But will check with amlogic what is possible and if they planning anything (it also needs to be stable ofc) so its not only, yes we can do 5.0 on the s805 chipset, but it must be stable
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on November 01, 2015, 02:39:52 AM
date 4-feb-2015,

Android 5.0 lollipop for its latest processors including AMLogic S802, S805 and S812. It is nice to see AMLogic releasing latest SDK to its Android PCs and tablet processors. Also with the release of Android 5, the company has extended the life of its SoC .

That's all ready available... And I know what I'm talking about when it comes to android...
I'm a senior member @xda developers for over 5 years now...
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on November 01, 2015, 10:44:12 AM
Also, regarding CEC-functionality, you said we needed AMLOGIC for that as well. But when i google around for Android streaming boxes with the same CPU as the Cood-E, many list CEC as part of their functionality.

What gives?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: sikkel1961 on November 01, 2015, 01:47:30 PM
At this moment the COOD-E plays smooth and stable, so be patient and the upgrades will come soon as the developers find it good to update the old version.
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on November 02, 2015, 04:08:33 PM
Far as I could see cood-e has the ability for cec only its not enabled I think its somehow missing some software/drivers for it .
Log says its wants to enable cec but can't strat/run it for sons reason...
But how am I ...I'm just a noob ;-)
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on November 02, 2015, 04:52:07 PM
@ Coert, cool. Thanks for clarifying! And ur def. not a noob xD
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: wortel87 on November 06, 2015, 08:16:23 PM
I,m really anoyed. It seems they cant keep the box uptodate . It takes to long to bring out updates and push through some fixes.

It would be way better to just open the box so we can install the latest kodi ourselves. And you guys focus on the android bit. keep the costumers happy.

I,ll probably buy a rasberry soon and be done with it. It gets old real quick.

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: jeffrey980 on January 08, 2016, 07:53:08 AM
is hier al wat meer over bekent ?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 10, 2016, 09:46:16 PM
Download confluance ++ skin and use it.
There you can download play store install it and log in with Google account.
In playstore download and Install ES File explorer and
download and install apex launcher.
Now when you press the home button on the remote you can choose between launcher , choose apex.
In apex launcher you can do anything you used to be with android and also enter the internet browser ..
There you go and search for SPMC 15.0 for android ARM (its a community build of Kodi ( it says 15.0 but its 15.2 )
After downloading SPMC from the website open ES file explorer and look for the download of SPMC install it.
You can run SPMC along side the Cood-e build.
Also in the app list of your apex launcher you see a special settings icon that will open the special cood-e setting so you will will be able to switch between 24hz 50hz and 60hz and controls all the other settings from the coode menu..

Also you will now be able to go in all the android settings in setting menu and if you want you can select apex as a standaart launcher so it will boot in android every time you start your coode box this way you'll have a android TV box instead of only the coode media streamer..

Hope I explained it in a easy way because I'm not so good in English I'm from the Netherlands so English isn't my native language..
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeremy on January 12, 2016, 02:02:52 PM
is hier al wat meer over bekent ?

Beste Jeffrey,

We zijn hier bijna klaar mee, ik verwacht toch echt deze week de update vrij te kunnen geven.

Gr, Jeremy
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 12, 2016, 04:22:57 PM
Hey, Jeremy.
Long time no see!!!
Any news about the update, maybe an upgrade to Isengard?
It was supposed to be out by the beginning of the New Year...
Thanks.

Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on January 12, 2016, 05:33:13 PM
@ aquirido; Just above your post he mentioned in Dutch that the update will probably be released this week!
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 12, 2016, 06:05:56 PM
Thanks, Tuk.
You see, I can't read Dutch...or use Google translate or stuff.  ;D

Regards,
Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: tuk on January 13, 2016, 11:06:10 PM
I know, so that's why i translated it :D
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeremy on January 15, 2016, 10:19:35 PM
Hey, Jeremy.
Long time no see!!!
Any news about the update, maybe an upgrade to Isengard?
It was supposed to be out by the beginning of the New Year...
Thanks.

Art

Yes i know it was!
But we need to have it working stable, and sometimes it takes more time then expected.

Very sorry! :)
I'm doing overtime testing the latest update so we can put it into OTA.

Hopefully we can bring it.. beginning of next week.

Gr, Jeremy

Have a great weekend!!
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 16, 2016, 12:50:26 PM
Hey, no worries.
I know you guys are trying your best...
We'll be eagerly waiting for it.

Cheers.

Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 19, 2016, 06:53:30 PM
Hey, guys.
Just updated to 1.2.5 and I'm still stuck on Kodi 14.1.
What gives? Do I need to reset everything and start from scratch?

Thanks.

Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Leoje on January 19, 2016, 10:43:36 PM
Hi,
After new uptdate still stuck at Kodi 14.1.
I made a factory reset and Cood-e startup all fresh at 15.2
I reinstalled all my must have addons and...
Good news: Pulsar work (essencial for me)
Bad news: autosub script and keymap editor dont work anymore...
Jeremy, can you help me to find working substitutes addons ?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 09:41:52 AM
I also updated my coode because i prefer to use the original firmware version rather then the normal arm version I was using the past few weeks.
My Cood-e updated and after that it rebooted so all good.. It says its running version V1.2.5 and also the kernel is complied January 19th but Lodi version is still 14.1 Helix.
In the above post someone is mentioning he did a factory reset and after that all was fine.. But why do a factory reset ? You guys haven't mentioned a reset is needed after update ?
Also theres only little info available about the update... Surely you guys should know about the need of a reset you've tested over and over so you've told us.
You wanted the update to be perfect before releasing... So how I it possible nobody mentions something about doing a reset ?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 09:46:09 AM
Subtile addon use OpenSubtitles.org or nlondertitels.com working just fine for me..
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 11:11:49 AM
After factory reset it indeed is running Kodi 15.2
(And luckily Im still able to use the android part of my coode box so playstore and apex are already installed) 
And have to say it rubs smooth so far but... .
The time its showing is wrong its 11:07 but it says the time is 18:08 ...? Can't change it to the correct time..
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 11:21:31 AM
Also you mentioned a while ago the update would contain a system reboot function so we didn't have to plug out the power cord every time  without a proper shutdown of the android system.. Can't find the reboot function and really want that function because this was the question isn't if the box is going to brick sometime but when it will brick as a result of rebooting without a proper shutdown of the whole system
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 20, 2016, 12:17:13 PM
Coert,
Thanks for the feedback. I will factory reset mine later.
BTW, weren't these issues present or identified during the beta test phase?

Regards,
Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Anaconda on January 20, 2016, 12:57:17 PM
So I've done the update, but still running Kodi 14.1 (Compiled: Aug 28 2015) - When I go to the update menu it tells me there's no updates available,, probably because I've already downloaded it.

If I do a factory reset, will I have to reinstall addons and mark movies as watched again? I've been using the Backup addon, but if I restore from there, won't it put me back to 14.1 AKA square one?

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 01:11:13 PM
Hey, aquerido

We didn't had a test run with the Beta version because Cood-e Team was / is running in some problems regarding OTA beta testers updating ...
Personally I would give each beta tester a unique in log code and I would add a link in the update menu named Beta firmware (or something like it) so if the beta is ready for testing we could log in by entering the beta section and log in with our username and unique  in log code the provided...
So I don't really know what problems the are running in to regarding downloading beta firmware for beta testers..
but seems to me it it shouldn't be so difficult if you do it the way I described... Or is it ?
But who am I... I'm just a regular Kodi user..  :-\

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 01:18:00 PM
So I've done the update, but still running Kodi 14.1 (Compiled: Aug 28 2015) - When I go to the update menu it tells me there's no updates available,, probably because I've already downloaded it.

If I do a factory reset, will I have to reinstall addons and mark movies as watched again? I've been using the Backup addon, but if I restore from there, won't it put me back to 14.1 AKA square one?

Hey,

Its best you install everything fresh and not reinstall your back up because youve updated from Helix to Isengard and then there's a change you will get some errors because Helix and Isengard are quit different....
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Anaconda on January 20, 2016, 01:21:29 PM

Hey,

Its best you install everything fresh and not reinstall your back up because youve updated from Helix to Isengard and then there's a change you will get some errors because Helix and Isengard are quit different....
[/quote]

I don't mind re-installing addons etc., but what about all my movies that are marked as watched?
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Leoje on January 20, 2016, 01:31:17 PM
Hi Coert...
How can i remap the keys of my Remote? In the past i used the volume + to open the subtitle box, the volume - to show movie info and the mute to open superfavourite. With this version i cannot remap the Remote anymore.
When we use opensubtitles and autosubs together, when we open a movie file or any stream it auto show the subtitle box to choose the proper subtitle. It's very util. In this version can't do anymore this.
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 01:32:07 PM
Euhh.. Well look at it this way, after resetting and installing addons again you've got plenty series and movies you can watch because if you've got to believe Kodi  you haven't seen any of them.. :-\
Haha... Can't do much about that I suppose .. Or there must be a add on that only makes a backup of you're watched stuff... Maby library backup or something like it..
But I don't know if there is or what addon you will need for it sorry... I think you can't do anything about it...
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 01:38:47 PM
Huh I don't really understand your problem because in settings you can select which addon you want kodi to use as standard subtitleservice for movie as well as TV shows.. And then you set Kodi to auto search subs when playing movie or show.. And if you set settings in kodi so you can select which of the found .SRT file you want it to download Kofi will auto open the subtitle window and you can select the .SRT file it has to download hen opening a stream...
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 01:45:24 PM
All of this you can do in

System-settings-video-subtitels,

-languages to download subs for,
-dont select "Auto download first subs,
default TV show service (select you're preferred sub addon)
default Movie service (again select your preferred sub addon)

And your ready to go...
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Anaconda on January 20, 2016, 01:55:53 PM
Euhh.. Well look at it this way, after resetting and installing addons again you've got plenty series and movies you can watch because if you've got to believe Kodi  you haven't seen any of them.. :-\
Haha... Can't do much about that I suppose .. Or there must be a add on that only makes a backup of you're watched stuff... Maby library backup or something like it..
But I don't know if there is or what addon you will need for it sorry... I think you can't do anything about it...

Thanks Coert - If anyone else is wondering, you can save you're watched status without even needing any addons : http://kodi.wiki/view/Import-export_library

Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 02:01:24 PM
As i was saying if there is a way its by backing up library...  ;D thanks for sharing the link really usefull  ;D
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 02:13:10 PM
And one other thing just tried Yatse and its working 100% for me (for now)

Got to go for now but will do some heavy testing of firmware (and yatse) tonight and if coode team havent awnserd any questions on the forum today
Ill do my best to anwser and help you as far as I'm capable of when Ill get home..

For now see you later bitches  :P
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: sirwimpyix on January 20, 2016, 02:53:25 PM
As i was saying if there is a way its by backing up library...  ;D thanks for sharing the link really usefull  ;D

Why don't we try to use trakt.tv addon?

http://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:Trakt

It can sync watched stuff across all devices and has mobile apps too (i.e. iTV Shows for iOS that is capable of syncing with trakt.tv)
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeremy on January 20, 2016, 04:17:40 PM
Coert,
Thanks for the feedback. I will factory reset mine later.
BTW, weren't these issues present or identified during the beta test phase?

Regards,
Art

Hi Guys!

We investigating it as we speak.

For now, i would advise if you want to see 15.2 in the settings menu to make a backup for settings and addons throught he backup addon:

Backup guide:
http://forum.cood-e.com/index.php?topic=59

You can also install the backup again so all addons and settings are back.

Ofc, it is running 15.2, so its only one text showing something wrong.
The reason its showing, because COOD-E automatically backups the firmware to a reserved spot in the flash memory, so when reinstalling, its installing without any files in "use" so they can be replaced at anytime.

I guess this is a file in use that couldn't be overwritten.
But we investigating it and will fix it.
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 05:14:44 PM
As i was saying if there is a way its by backing up library...  ;D thanks for sharing the link really usefull  ;D

Why don't we try to use trakt.tv addon?

http://kodi.wiki/view/Add-on:Trakt

It can sync watched stuff across all devices and has mobile apps too (i.e. iTV Shows for iOS that is capable of syncing with trakt.tv)


Haha im using trakt for the past 2 months now... And didn't know or noticed it could do that.   The reason I'm using trakt is only because 2 addons I use were saying that the add on worked better if u signed in and would use your trakt account ..haha... Until now I didn't had a clue what a fucking trakt account was... Lol.;-p
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: sirwimpyix on January 20, 2016, 05:31:28 PM
See, you never stop learning  ;D ;D ;D

Haven't installed it myself yet. I'm going to give it a try before doing the latest firmware update.
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 20, 2016, 11:12:52 PM
Coert,
Thanks for the feedback. I will factory reset mine later.
BTW, weren't these issues present or identified during the beta test phase?

Regards,
Art

Hi Guys!

We investigating it as we speak.

For now, i would advise if you want to see 15.2 in the settings menu to make a backup for settings and addons throught he backup addon:

Backup guide:
http://forum.cood-e.com/index.php?topic=59

You can also install the backup again so all addons and settings are back.

Ofc, it is running 15.2, so its only one text showing something wrong.
The reason its showing, because COOD-E automatically backups the firmware to a reserved spot in the flash memory, so when reinstalling, its installing without any files in "use" so they can be replaced at anytime.

I guess this is a file in use that couldn't be overwritten.
But we investigating it and will fix it.
Hey Coode team don't say ofc its running 15.2 when it isn't.!! Just tell the truth and just acknowledge there is a bug in the update ..
There's no Shame in acknowledging youre human and that coode team make mistakes like everybody else..

It wasn't running 15.2 after update because,

1: in system settings it was still showing the Frames Per second and in 15.2 it doesn't do that anymore it only says the resolution and the max screen freq. Like 1920x1080p 60hz and helix is showing the actual fps updated every sec. So its changes the whole time.

2: in android settings-apps-installed u can see that its is indeed running 14.1 helix

3: in the android system root-data-data- well I think you know where this is going... Exactly installed version 14.1

4: some of the settings in the system setting menu can still be changed the way you could in 14.1 and in 15.2 there are some changes made in settings regarding witch settings can be changed and also in the way you can change settings.... For example in the video/audio sync settings it doest give you the option to choose between sync by drop dupe audio, video signal or sync on audio 15.2 you can only choose between sync on or don't sync.

So Coode team please just be honest with us and don't make false statements because this way you will loose the trust and surely the respect of a lot of coode users and loose your credibility as a company as this isn't the first time I have encountered posts like this one..

Greet Coert
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Jeremy on January 21, 2016, 07:56:03 AM
Coert,

If a factory reset showing 15.2 after, it means the upgrade has been done.
And as said before: We investigating it as we speak, so we need some time.

its a big update

Gr, Jeremy
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: Coert on January 21, 2016, 09:31:00 AM
Jeremy,

If it was only the tekst that was showing 14.1 it wouldnt have al the same functions in system setting because in 15.2 there are a lot of changes there regarding the Amlogic hardware etc.
But OK I won't go on about it because im sensing you're getting irritated and that wasn't my intention..

Sorry
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: aquerido on January 21, 2016, 09:41:28 AM
Hey Coode team don't say ofc its running 15.2 when it isn't.!! Just tell the truth and just acknowledge there is a bug in the update ..
There's no Shame in acknowledging youre human and that coode team make mistakes like everybody else..

Dear Coert,

I'm not so sure of that, about not being on 15.2. At least, some addons and stuff that only worked well in Isengard are working fine.
The only issue I'm having is with the IPTV PVR Simple client, which refuses to load, even after a reinstall.
I've checked some things and they are in line with the Isengard release. Some things may however been tweeked by the Cood-E team, thus making it "not so pure" Isengard but a mod or such.
We'd love to get some feedback from the team.

Regards,
Art
Title: Re: Kodi update ?
Post by: THeM1971 on January 21, 2016, 10:44:32 AM
Did the update and for me the biggest improvement is the response from the player.

It is now fast and responsive even the movie`s are loading fast now thanks for that.

And the remote is working without no lags.

Regards and keep up the good work